Fermer
Chargement...

1 /

    Chargement...

La TV Griffe Noire... tout un programme !

Livres en Anglais et en VO

Découvrez notre large sélection de livres en anglais et en VO. 


ENIGMA VARIATIONS

ACIMAN ANDRE

From a youthful infatuation with a cabinet maker in a small Italian fishing village, to a passionate yet sporadic affair with a woman in New York, to an obsession with a man he meets at a tennis court, Enigma Variations charts one man's path through the great loves of his life. Paul's intense desires, losses and longings draw him closer, not to a defined orientation, but to an understanding that 'heartache, like love, like low-grade fevers, like the longing to reach out and touch a hand across the table, is easy enough to live down'. Andre Aciman casts a shimmering light over each facet of desire, to probe how we ache, want and waver, and ultimately how we sometimes falter and let go of the very ones we want the most. We may not know what we want. We may remain enigmas to ourselves and to others. But sooner or later we discover who we've always known we were.
voir la fiche du livre
12.90 €

SLEEPING BEAUTIES

KING STEPHEN

Résumé non disponible

ALDOUS HUXLEY THE BRAVE NEW WORLD ANGLAIS

HUXLEY, ALDOUS

Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone in feeling discontent. Harbouring an unnatural desire for solitude, and a perverse distaste for the pleasures of compulsory promiscuity, Bernard has an ill-defined longing to break free. A visit to one of the few remaining Savage Reservations where the old, imperfect life still continues, may be the cure for his distress-Huxley's ingenious fantasy of the future sheds a blazing light on the present and is considered to be his most enduring masterpiece.
voir la fiche du livre
12.00 €

BLINDING KNIFE

WEEKS

Résumé non disponible
voir la fiche du livre
15.90 €

HARRAP'S TO THE LIGHTHOUSE

Woolf Virginia

In the peaceful months before the Great War, Mrs Ramsay's numerous guests and eight children are all enjoying the long summer days on the Isle of Skye. Their feelings and thoughts form an ever-changing picture, in keeping with the unpredictable weather. Will they be able to go to the Lighthouse tomorrow ? Isn't a storm brewing ? Envie de lire en anglais ? Dorénavant, c'est possible grâce à Harrap's. Découvrez un roman intimiste de Virginia Woolf en VO et en version intégrale, avec des traductions en marge pour vous aider à bien comprendre le texte. Plaisir garanti ! Avec Harrap's, Yes you can !
voir la fiche du livre
8.95 €

ANGLAIS- ARAGON T2- ELDEST

PAOLINI CHRISTOPHER

Résumé non disponible
voir la fiche du livre
12.00 €

FINDERS KEEPERS

King Stephen

Morris Bellamy, a big fan of the novelist John Rothstein, is so disappointed by the fate of his favourite hero that he kills the old author and buries his unpublished material. Young Peter Saubers discovers it years later in an old trunk buried under a tree. Of course Morris feels it belongs to him... Envie de lire en anglais ? Dorénavant, c'est possible grâce à Harrap's. Découvrez ce thriller de Stephen King, en VO et en version intégrale, avec des traductions en marge pour vous aider à bien comprendre le texte. Emotions garanties !
voir la fiche du livre
8.95 €

A SHOUT IN THE RUINS

POWERS KEVIN

Following his hugely celebrated debut novel, The Yellow Birds , Kevin Powers returns to the battlefield and its aftermath, this time in his native Virginia, just before and during the Civil War and ninety years later. The novel pinpoints with unerring emotional depth the nature of random violence, the necessity of love and compassion, and the fragility and preciousness of life. It will endure as a stunning novel about what we leave behind, what a life is worth, what is said and unsaid, and the fact that ultimately what will survive of us is love.
voir la fiche du livre
14.75 €

THE HIDEAWAY*

O'FLANAGAN SHEILA

THE NO. 1 BESTSELLER 'The perfect book to take on your summer hols' Heat **** The breathtaking new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes. What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie? When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she needs. Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and orange groves - along with Pep, the local winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart. But just when she begins to feel whole again, another bombshell drops. Juno might have run away from her secrets, but the past isn't finished with her... 'The sultry Spanish location is wonderfully escapist ... a captivating, sun-soaked read ' Daily Express 'If you're seeking an escape of your own, this sunny, evocative story is the perfect place to hide away ' S Magazine 'A feel-good story told by a funny and down-to-earth heroine ' Woman 'A hugely enjoyable romance , written with pace and heart . It will make you long to jump on a plane yourself' Sunday Mirror 'A beautiful backdrop to the story of a woman finding acceptance and new beginnings ' Woman et Home ' Perfect for those lazy, hazy days ' Sun ' Pure escapism ' Candis 'You'll race through this warm, heart-felt read ' Best ' Page-turner ' Bella
voir la fiche du livre
12.90 €